Junk Among Us

Standard

I haven’t written since November and a lot has happened since then. The only main thing that’s affected me was the sudden death of my beloved Cleo. She was hit by a car at the end of January and it’s still too painful for me to talk about it, so I won’t be going in to any details. During Thanksgiving the dog that lived with our neighbors across the street came over and pretty much never left. Her name is Annie, and around Christmas they asked if we wanted to keep her, since she was always over and having such a great time. They are trying to sell their house and would be needing her to stay somewhere, so we were the likely choice. She’s a real sweet dog, and Coco has gotten accustomed to her. Last Thursday another dog showed up at our doorstep. Annie and Coco were barking like crazy, and I thought there was something outside for them to chase, so I opened the door, and there he was. He was very skinny that’s for sure! His poor ribs were showing. We then saw him running around with the horses. Well I decided to give him some food, and that did the trick, because I don’t think he’s leaving. Especially once I put bacon grease on his food. I don’t think he’ll be an inside dog. He’s much too energetic, and when he starts to play with Annie they have no boundaries and have knocked over several outdoor lights. Yesterday they ran off to an abandoned house down the road and across the street which is NOT ok. I don’t want to have to deal with another dog being hit by a car. That was brutal! After the antiques week I’ll get around to making him an appointment to make sure he’s healthy, and consider getting him neutered. So far we named him Bo, mainly because I wanted a name that ended in an “O”, I suggested Hobo, since he was a lost dog, and Speed said Bozo, since he’s so crazy. That’s how we got the name Bo, which can get confusing since we take care of a horse with the same name.

Speaking of Antiques week, this is crazy! http://www.antiqueweekend.com will give you all the information you need to find out what is open, when, and if it costs money to get in. Many years ago in Round Top, Texas a woman starting selling her antiques, now it’s a huge, insane, way bigger than she probably ever imagined, Antiques and Junk selling mecca. Anything you are looking for, I’m pretty sure you can find it here. Speed and I only live 25 miles away so we commonly ride through the area.There were plenty of signs stating that there were vendor spaces for rent, and we called one up that was in Warrenton, Tree Park Antiques, and they had an opening right up against the street. They also had a RV area where we could park our travel trailer. So now we have a place to go to the bathroom, make something to eat, or just hang out. Which is nice, however I haven’t been really able to “hang out” since I’m usually the only one here. Speed and I usually drive out here, set up, and then he leaves. He can’t sit for long periods at a time. I can however. As long as I have my gadgets..iPhone, iPad, and some decent service then I should be alright. I’m worried about when more and more people get here, the service won’t be as great as it has been and I’ll be utterly bored!

Speed has a warehouse full of junk and he wants to finally get rid of some of the stuff in there. Start to clean out and decide what’s worth keeping, throwing away, or selling. It was surprising to go through it, because there was a lot of good junk! One of the cool things he found was his grandmother’s door to her house, it had the handle in the middle of the door and a bunch of detailed work. I told him there was no way we were going to sell that! I want that door on our future house. (When I say future house, I’m not talking anytime soon, it’s just a wish that we have, to build another house on higher ground of our property.) But there were plenty of other doors to sell, along with shutters and windows. We have a plethora of things. Burlap sacks, Coca-Cola signs, tea boxes, wire baskets, dishes, armoire, vanity, outdoor furniture, food grade buckets (that you can store food in for the end of the world), some of Speed’s old furniture that doesn’t fit in our house, wood burning stoves, and a boat. You name your price you can have it! I wish I had some business cards made with my email address on them. That way I could give them to my customers and have them email me their creation out of what I sold them. I’d like to see what they do with my old junk. I just thought it would be a neat way for me to interact with other people. When I told Speed he thought I should do it so I can see what they make and then we could start doing it and selling it too. That’s typical of him. Lately he has been ordering signs for the candy factory from a man down the street from us. He gave us a welcome sign that he had that someone was to buy but didn’t, so Speed is going to ask him to make another sign using some of his scrap materials that will hang underneath the Welcome sign, it will be Junk Among Us. I think it sounds like a dinosaur name. And I wonder if it should be hyphenated, Junk-Among-Us, hmmm maybe not. I think it was brilliant on Speed’s part, but of course I’m not going to tell him that. He thinks he’s doing me a “favor” by “letting” me sell his junk. He told me he was doing this so I would have a “job”. Isn’t he so kind? Well, whatever, I’m having a good time, meeting and talking to new people, the awesome stuff there is to see, and I really can’t wait for the Junk-o-rama Prom on April 4th by the Junk Gypsy sisters http://www.gypsyville.com. I bet there is a whole underground network of parties that I’m not tapped into yet, and I’m going to figure out a way to get in!!!

Leave a Reply

