I got your dumplings right here!

Standard

I just got done cooking Chicken and dumplings for the first time. Speed’s mother, my wonderful mother-in-law, cooks great chicken and dumplings! I mean they’re fantastic, and whenever anyone gets sick, she makes them for that person. I’ve asked her for this recipe several times, and I still have yet to receive it. I don’t know if this is intentional, but I don’t think it is. She told me the recipe came from her aunt and when her aunt died she left the recipe to her nieces. however only her and her sister got the recipe with the “secret ingredient” in it, 1 can of cream of chicken soup.

I found several recipes on Pinterest, some using a crockpot, some using biscuits, some from scratch. Yesterday I thought I would make some and I had decided that I would need to go to the store. Speed took me to the best BBQ place around La Grange, Back Porch BBQ, I really like the place. Afterwards we went to HEB and I got a can of cream of chicken, a can of chicken broth, and a rotisserie chicken. (Along with some milk, and Speed’s favorite ice cream toasted almond chocolate)

When I got home I started on the dumplings. I decided to make them from scratch, and that wasn’t too hard. Next time I will make sure that the butter is more soft. I thought I only needed one can of broth, boy was I wrong. I guess I got that idea from the crockpot recipe I got confused with. The other recipe I was following (where I got the dumpling recipe part from) just said chicken broth at the beginning, and then after I scrolled all the way down at the bottom, it said 2 quarts! Eek!! So I opened up the cabinets, and thank goodness, I had three more cans. So once I got four cans of broth to a boil, I added the dumplings that I had cut out using a pizza cutter. While I was waiting for the broth to come to a boil, I shredded up the rotisserie chicken and saved all the skin and fat (no bones) for Cleo and Coco. I boiled the dumpling for almost 20 minutes and then added the chicken, it was about 4 cups worth. I then added the can of cream of chicken soup and some pepper to taste. I wound up with a delicious soup (Speed approved😉) which is perfect for the wonderful cold weather outside! I’m really enjoying the beginning of fall!

Dumplings:
2 cups of flour
1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
Pinch of salt
2 tablespoons of butter
1 cup of milk

Mix all ingredients except milk, resembling a pie crumble, then add milk a little at a time, mixing all the ingredients together. Spread out some wax paper and some flour, or spread it right out on your counter (however I do recommend cleaning it first) using a rolling pin covered in flour begin to spread out the ball of dough until it has a thickness close to a pie crust. Use a pizza cutter, or even a knife to cut the dumpling into one inch squares.

Soup:
4 cans of chicken broth
4 cups of cooked/shredded chicken
1 can of cream of chicken soup

Bring 4 cans of chicken broth to a boil. Add the dumplings one at a time to the broth and let them cook for 15-20 minutes, or until they’re not doughy anymore. Stir in the chicken and then add the can of soup. I then added pepper to taste. Keep stirring making sure that you don’t smash the dumplings. I then set it on low and keep it on my stove top, since it will get eaten in a day!

20121007-182101.jpg

About avathegreat

I'm a thirty-something unemployed teacher, who has recently moved out to the middle-of-nowhere and gotten married. My only job now is to find out what to do with the rest of my life and take care of a husband and several dogs on a budget all while trying to keep my sanity! Easy! Right?!

Leave a Reply

