Squashing the Squash

Standard

Yesterday I had a long day of driving to the bank to pay off my car, so I could get the title, in order to sell it. We jumped through hoops to get the car ready for a family to buy. They shook hands and agreed on an amount in cash, but after we got the title, then went to the court house to exchange my license plate (only $1! Score!!), the guy started to back out on the phone (according to Speed who did all the talking) Did I mention that his daughter had to translate? (She looked about 12; I wonder what the F-word translates to?) So I wasn’t really in the mood to cook, and I was even less in the mood to go out anywhere. I decided on the frozen Stouffer’s lasagna and a salad. I also wanted to use up the about-to-expire crescent rolls, so I sprinkled some garlic salt on those. Speed doesn’t like the rolls so I just used the end part of a loaf of bread and spread some butter on them and hit them with some garlic salt. He likes the ends of the loafs, which I don’t, so nothing goes to waste!
Anyhoo, I was trying to think of another side dish and I wasn’t about to use the frozen spinach Goofy had gotten at the store last week. When he finally contributes to the groceries, he gets things that we don’t eat or drink and then he pats himself on the back for getting them, and leaves the receipt around for us to see how much he spent. While I was in the freezer looking at what I could use I noticed the squash that our neighbors from across the street gave us. It was already sliced and frozen when they gave it to us. I usually like to slice my squash the long way and just spread some olive oil and sprinkle some Tony Chachere’s on it and grill them. But by the time the frozen squash thawed it was pretty soggy and there was no hope in me grilling it. So I thought of some how baking it. I do have a recipe on Pinterest that I wanted to try that involved spreading them out on a pan and sprinkling parmesan cheese on them. But again they were still too soggy for that. So when I googled “baked yellow squash recipe” I wound up cooking a recipe that popped up.

Easy Baked Summer Yellow Squash http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-baked-summer-yellow-squash-177307

The recipe called for 3 pounds of squash. I don’t know exactly what I had but it was two bags of sliced squash in quart size ziploc bags.

So I just followed along as the recipe said. First I had to boil the squash with some onion. Luckily I had a bit of onion left over in the fridge!

I chopped it up and threw it in a pot along with the squash and water. I bring it to a boil and let it stay there for ten minutes, or more.

While that’s doing it’s job I get all the other ingredients together and measured out. I don’t have any bread crumbs so I decided to use Panko, which is supposed to be healthier…we’ll see!

Once the squash is done, I drain it. The recipe stresses to drain it VERY well. So I make sure to squash the squash in the strainer really well! After wards I throw it in a bowl….

I then squash it with my mashed potato masher, (I’m sure it didn’t mind!)

I then mix all the other ingredients in with the squash. Once I did this it looked really mushy, like I didn’t have enough squash, which I wasn’t sure I had enough to begin with. (And I forgot to take a picture) So I poured about a  full cup of Panko bread crumbs in the mix to help the consistency. The recipe also mentioned nutmeg, which I thought I didn’t have, but found out that I did later!  I put it all in an 8 x 8 pan and sprinkled more bread crumbs on top.

I popped it into the oven at 350 degrees and pulled it out 45 minutes later!

Here’s the review:

Speed said it reminded him of cream corn. (Which I’ve never had because it looks gross to me) I thought it was a little bland, but once I added some salt it was much better! At one point I had thought about adding some Tony Chachere’s to it, which I think I would next time. Also I think some Itlaian bread crumbs would have given it more flavor instead of Panko. However, I don’t think I’ll be making my squash like this again unless I get it sliced and frozen and I have no other choice.

About avathegreat

I'm a thirty-something unemployed teacher, who has recently moved out to the middle-of-nowhere and gotten married. My only job now is to find out what to do with the rest of my life and take care of a husband and several dogs on a budget all while trying to keep my sanity! Easy! Right?!

Leave a Reply

