How to make Pappasito’s Salsa

Standard

I’ve recently moved in with my husband and two dogs to what I like to refer to as “the-middle-of-nowhere”, AKA Muldoon, TX. This move has now taken me away from things that I love, such as my friends and family (although only a two & ½ hour drive away (I visit them more than they visit me….Ahem!)), Target (an hour away), Super Wal-Mart (30 minutes away), and any and every descent restaurant known to man. Our favorite restaurant to eat at is Pappasito’s Cantina. We love everything about the place and especially their salsa! And of course the closest one is an hour away!! So since I’m getting the hang of cooking (as long as I have a recipe) I decided to use the awesomeness of the Internet and search for “Pappasito’s salsa recipe” and found the following recipe: http://www.copykat.com/2009/03/27/pappasitos-salsa/

This is pretty much the main recipe that is on the internet, the only variation I found was a response to a question on this website: http://www.texasmonthly.com/forum/recipeswap/article/1854/ It suggested yellow and red onions and white pepper, but it didn’t refer to any quantities. It also suggested to NOT use a non-stick pan (which I don’t think I even have). So I went with what was on the previous website.

So here’s the recipe I used:

Ingredients

  • 8 Roma Tomatoes (Whole)
  • 1 Small Yellow Onion Diced (1/3 – 1/2 C Diced)
  • 1 Fresh Jalapeno Pepper Stem Removed and Seeded
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 fresh poblano pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Instructions

In a moderately hot skillet that has been sprayed with a cooking spray brown the coarsely chopped Poblano pepper and jalapeno pepper. Brown and stir until the skins have turned dark on many sides of peppers. Add tomatoes and brown them until the skins on the tomatoes have turned a dark brown on several sides, remove pan from heat. Put onion in hot skillet that has been removed from the heat and stir. In a food processor add celery salt, oregano, cilantro, sugar, garlic salt, and pepper. Pour peppers, onions, and tomatoes and add water a little at a time, process just enough to chop to a medium consistency but not to a smooth paste, leave a little chunky.

Remove from processor and pour in hot skillet turn up heat quickly stir for 3 min and serve hot.

 

The first time I made it, Speed and I agreed it wasn’t spicy enough. My parents thought it was perfect, which meant that it’s great for the sensitive stomachs, or the “older” crowd and children. But I prefer some kick to my salsa so after that first try I decided one jalapeno wasn’t enough. I also thought I would keep the seeds in them too, so I decided to use 5 jalapenos with seeds, it’s got some kick now! Next time I might try taking out the seeds but still using the same amount of jalapenos, just to experiment!

I was talking to my friend Lupe, and she told me that she wanted the recipe, so I decided to share it here with some visual aids!

And here’s how I did it:

I chopped up my jalapenos and poblano pepper (after washing them of course).

Image

I got out the sauce pan I got from Ikea and the Crisco to spray the pan with.

Image

The recipe called for a “moderately hot skillet” so I decided to set my gauge on a four:

Image

Once the pan got nice and hot I threw in the chopped jalapenos and poblano pepper and waited for them to get brown. Meanwhile I got my other ingredients together.

Image

I put them all in a bowl so I could put all this stuff back up in the cabinets. I like to clean as I go along so it doesn’t feel so daunting later.

Image

I only cut off the top of the cilantro, there’s no need to chop it up since it’s going in the blender. The less work the better! It looked like it was a 1/4 cup!

Image

When the peppers looked like this, I added the tomatoes.

Image

I added all the tomatoes, and waited until they looked like this before I took them off the heat.

Image

Then you add the onions:

Image

Then you put them in the blender with the rest of the ingredients (I used 1/2 cup of water). I have to put in half, blend it, then add the rest and blend it all together.

Image

Once I blend it, you pour it back into the skillet and warm it all up together.

Image

It tastes gooooooooood!!! It also made a bunch of salsa, so I used quite a bit of it the next night to make chicken enchiladas.

I hope you enjoy!!

About avathegreat

I'm a thirty-something unemployed teacher, who has recently moved out to the middle-of-nowhere and gotten married. My only job now is to find out what to do with the rest of my life and take care of a husband and several dogs on a budget all while trying to keep my sanity! Easy! Right?!

Leave a Reply

