It’s not getting any better….

Standard

2-3-2011

It’s not looking good for Mater. Speed is already tired of him and “his non-listening ass!” We just got back from running to the hardware store to get a few items for the plumbing job in the utility room. When we pulled into the driveway I saw Mater dragging something up from the shop, I asked Speed “what’s he dragging up here”, which he then replied “Fuck! He already ran my torch out!” We had left Mater doing some simple job and I presume Speed gave him direction to not let the torch run out and seeing that he was trying to roll up two tanks of some sort of gas to use to fuel the torch, he must’ve ran out. Which is not good.

This morning after Speed and I had been up for awhile, I started to wonder if Mater froze to death out in the motorhome. While Mater stays up here to work, he stays out in the motorhome that we have connected to the shop. He used to stay in the work & play trailer before we sold that a week or two ago. He’s an early riser and as exampled from yesterday he sometimes comes in before Speed wakes up, which is kinda annoying. But not today, but as soon as I thought as much, he showed up. Speed like to drink his coffee black, which means no creamer or sugar involved. Nice and neat. Not Mater. He’s got to use a spoon to get the sugar out; fortunately he uses the plastic spoons, which I’ve kept just for this purpose. He then leaves the spoon on the counter, approximately 6-12 inches from the sink, all day long. Every night I have the pleasure of putting this spoon in the sink and washing them. Now as being the “woman” of the house, I now have “certain responsibilities”. I’m not working right now, so this isn’t too much of a problem, because really, what in the hell am I going to do anyway? But that still doesn’t mean it can’t aggravate the hell out of me! Luckily none of this was focused at Speed, so as soon as Mater is done eating at the end of the night, he’s out of here. Which I’m so thankful for!

So it looks like we got a beaver in the pond! Since Speed cleaned out the gutters and creek during the last major rain we had, the neighbors are able to look into the pond from the street next to our property. They called to tell Speed that they saw a beaver in there. Today Speed went up to try and look for him and found that he’s chewed off some of the trees (skinny ones) and it looks like he’s trying to get the cedar trees too! (Hopefully if I’m successful at uploading them there will be photos to see) We tried to find where the dam is, we think we might’ve found it, but we’ll just have to keep an eye out for it to see if it gets bigger. I was wondering if he was going to be working tonight, but I don’t know anything about beavers, so I’m going to need to Google that!

About avathegreat

I'm a thirty-something unemployed teacher, who has recently moved out to the middle-of-nowhere and gotten married. My only job now is to find out what to do with the rest of my life and take care of a husband and several dogs on a budget all while trying to keep my sanity! Easy! Right?!

Leave a Reply

