Oh bother….

Standard

2-2-2011

I woke up at a descent time this morning, thank God! After laying there cuddled up to Cleo, I went to the bathroom and then to the kitchen to start making Speed coffee (I don’t drink coffee). I walked over to the door to look out at the frost that should be covering the ground when I see a van parked in out driveway. Since it was early in the morning it took me a bit to recognize the van as Mater’s. Mater has been working for my dad for years, since I was around eighteen, and since I won’t be revealing my age anytime soon let’s just say that was a while ago. He basically does construction work, and he hates to paint and he knows how to weld. He’s got a grey goatee and a few teeth. He’s smart about what he does but talks like there is no tomorrow! I mean really talks! Once I was taking him back home to Galveston, and I was tuning him out so hard that I started to dose to sleep. So I got on the computer upstairs like I do in the morning and waited for him to knock. I went to tell Speed, who said “Fuck!” We knew he was coming, we just didn’t know he was going to be here so early. I mean he had to have left Galveston around 4:30 am in order to get here at 7! So Speed eventually got up since the dogs were barking like crazy once Mater started knocking. Then I had to listen to Mater talk to Cleo and Coco; he likes to call himself “Unkie” to the dogs (the word uncle without the L and with a Y sound at the end of it). Another thing that really annoys me is he has nicknamed Cleo “Wide-load”, which I don’t care for at all! She always sits next to us while we’re eating in case we drop something on the floor she can eat it. So when she sits next to him for breakfast he says “why you sittin’ next to me wide-load?” One day my passive-aggressive-ness is going to come out and I’m going to have to say/yell something. This is from the same man who a few years ago mentioned that I was gaining weight (what woman doesn’t know when they’re gaining weight?!) and I told him “well, at least I have all my teeth!” I know it’s a low blow, but I was pissed!

I then had to start making breakfast. Speed asked for eggs, bacon, and biscuits the night before, I told him that I would make it in the morning. Well, morning has arrived and I begin to cook. I’m slowing turning into my parents; I’m noticing characteristics about them that I start to do. My dad doesn’t like talking in the morning, he likes things quiet. I usually get that while sitting in front of the computer in the morning, feeding my addiction for facebook and Sorority Life! So Mater jibber-jabbers, louder than the TV, which really annoys me because right when they are saying something of interest to me he says something and I completely miss it! I guess, unbeknownst to me, this eventually shows on my face later because he asks me what’s wrong. I snap to and say “nothing”, which actually means “you alright! What’s wrong is you!!” I get all of us a plate of scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits, and then clean everything up. I go to sit down to chill and then realize I need to workout today because I haven’t at all this week, and if weather permitting I still go to Galveston this weekend, then I need to get all three in by Saturday.

While procrastinating in the bathroom plucking a few stray eyebrow hairs and still trying to find out how I singed a few on my right eyebrow last week, the electricity goes out. Of course we don’t find out until later that they started rolling black outs across the state to prevent from over all blackouts. Well, it didn’t last long and I was able to get on the treadmill before I had to do something crazy like a strength workout! After getting that done I showered, and while doing so the electricity went out again, but this time only for about a minute. When I got done I hurried up and finished my after shower routine as quickly as possible. Once I chill afterwards, and Speed and Mater are well on their way working in the utility room, I decide that I’m going to work on my Save-the-date invites for my upcoming wedding, Speed notices it’s noon and wants some lunch. It seems just when I get done with cooking and cleaning up for one meal I have to start on the next one! Luckily it was just sandwiches. I eat a Hot Pocket and I get to work on the invite. I mark off the 5 x 7 area on the page, I have another next to me for scrape, and wording with ideas and such. Then Speed says that he and Mater need to go to Home Depot, which is in Bastrop a good forty-five minutes away, and get some supplies for renovate the laundry/utility room. We have plans of putting a big sink in there for us to wash the dogs in, they tend to get dirty all the time because they enjoy getting in the pond as often as possible. So I had to get some things ready for him to leave and once they were gone I got to chill on my own and talk to a friend for a bit. I then decide what I want to write on my invite and begin to print it, but it’s not working. I go upstairs to figure out what’s wrong, but after fiddling with a few things I have no luck. I then decide to call NetGear again; after sitting on the phone for an hour I hang up and plan to call them early tomorrow morning hoping to get through faster. An eighteen-wheeler shows up to drop off a pallet of clutch discs for Speed, and he shows up when the driver is in the middle of the delivery. Which I’m thankful for because it’s mother fucking cold outside!!!!

About avathegreat

I'm a thirty-something unemployed teacher, who has recently moved out to the middle-of-nowhere and gotten married. My only job now is to find out what to do with the rest of my life and take care of a husband and several dogs on a budget all while trying to keep my sanity! Easy! Right?!

Leave a Reply

